Chakra Balancing


One of the fundamental healing modalities with my Reiki practice is to clear, activate and balance the Chakras for anyone experiencing imbalances or discontent in their life. My intention is to empower you with the awareness of this system for maintaining balance in all aspects of your life. I truly know the profound power of self-awareness and healing can be attained when a person’s Chakra system is awakened and activated. 

The more you learn about these powerful energy centers within your body, you will quickly be able to bring harmony back to all aspects of your life. Each Chakra Energy center in the body holds keys to specific physical, emotional, energetic, mental and spiritual issues. When one or more chakras centers are out of balance or blocked, then challenges, disease, dramas, depletion, confusion and disconnection are experienced.

The Chakra System is an incredible diagnostic tool and it is my passion to share with you the knowledge I have through my studies and practice of Balancing.  

The Sanskrit word Chakra literally translates to wheel or disk. In yoga, meditation and Ayurveda, this term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. There are seven main chakras, which align the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head. To visualize a chakra in the body, imagine a swirling wheel of energy where matter and consciousness meet. This invisible energy, called Prana, is vital life force, which keeps us vibrant, healthy and alive.


1st chakra - root

The Muladhara is the chakra of stability, security and our basic needs. It encompasses the first three vertebrae, the bladder and the colon. When this chakra is open, we feel safe and fearless.

2nd chakra - sacral

The Svadhisthana chakra is our creativity and sexual center. It is located above the pubic bone, below the navel, and is responsible for our creative expression.

3rd chakra - solar plexus

The Manipura chakra means lustrous gem and it’s the area from the navel to the breastbone. The third chakra is our source of personal power.

4th chakra - heart

Located at the heart center, the fourth chakra, anahata is at the middle of the seven and unites the lower chakras of matter and the upper chakras of spirit. The fourth is also spiritual but serves as a bridge between our body, mind, emotions, and spirit. The heart chakra is our source of love and connection.

When we work through our physical chakras, or the first three, we can open the spiritual chakras more fully.

5th chakra - throat

The Vishuddha chakra is the fifth chakra, located in the area of the throat. This is our source of verbal expression and the ability to speak our highest truth. The fifth chakra includes the neck, thyroid and parathyroid glands, jaw, mouth and tongue.

6th chakra - mind's eye

The Ajna chakra is located in between the eyebrows. It is also referred to as the “third eye” chakra. Ajna is our center of intuition. We all have a sense of intuition but we may not listen to it or heed its warnings. Focus on opening the sixth chakra will help you hone this ability.

7th Chakra - crown

The Sahaswara chakra or the “thousand petal lotus” chakra is located at the crown of the head. This is the chakra of enlightenment and spiritual connection to our higher selves, others, and ultimately, to the divine. It is located at the crown of the head.


Chakras close down or slow down when we have blocks in our thoughts and attitudes about whatever the particular chakra represents. When a chakra is out of balance, the Chi, or life force of a person vibrates below the appropriate frequency of that chakra. This can manifest as physical illness, mental dysfunctions, emotional disruptions or spiritual difficulties. The area or areas of your life that you think are not functioning well, whether they are physical, mental, emotional or spiritual usually points to chakra imbalances in the corresponding chakra. For instance, if you have an overactive 2nd chakra, you may manifest this with poor personal boundaries, guilt, lower back problems or, even kidney problems.

Like any type of growth in life, chakras can be balanced at one point in your life and then become unbalanced if you have any crisis, trauma or experience where you need to change an attitude, lifestyle factor or dispel a fear. 


There are many techniques for clearing and aligning the chakras within the body.  I personally use Reiki, crystals, dowsing and guided visualizations. Eventually, it is ideal for each person to learn to identify blockages and imbalances in their own chakra systems are apply appropriate realignment practices to harmonize their own chakras through a spiritual practice. The first step is awareness of habits and choices that are contributing to imbalance. The second step involves consistent practice to build new habits and conscious choices that support balanced chakras and therefore a thriving life.